Confessions of an early riser

Standard

Will sleepingI wake up most mornings around 4:45am. My actual work day begins at 8am, so it is not necessary that I get up this early. I must be a “morning person”, right? Here is the confession…I am not a morning person. Yep, you hear that right – I am not naturally a morning person. I swear, I’m not!  One day it just happened.

I worked in the restaurant industry most of my early adult life. My shifts started late in the day and ended late into the night. I functioned quite well on this schedule and preferred it. Then I started working business hours (8am – 5pm) and thought that I was going to die. To my credit, I still maintained a part-time bartending job during my first two office jobs and would close the bar around midnight, get out around 1am, and then have to be at the office at 8am. It was rough. Even when I quit bartending, I found myself enjoying late nights and hitting the snooze button waaaaaay too many times in the morning. Why oh why did the morning have to come so early?

Then William was born. I came to the realization that there was no reason to try to get him to sleep later into the mornings since I would be going back to work soon. Even then I knew that I was much more pleasant in the mornings than my husband, so my adapting to mornings began. I still wasn’t fully sold on waking up before the sun until after Collin was born. Like magic, one morning, as both sons slept, it all came together. I just happened to get up before the rest of my family and got so much accomplished, including a little downtime for myself. As each person woke up I was excited to greet them into the day and happy that I already had so much behind me. I was genuinely enjoying my family.

This streak continued. The earlier that I woke up, the more things actually got done. When I was a night owl, I’d find myself so tired after a long day that I would just veg out. Waking up early I felt refreshed and ready to tackle my looming to-do list. And the cycle continued.

Now, I’m not a perfect, happy to rise, ready to take on the day (every. single. day) person. I’m not saying that I never stay up too late watching shows that I don’t even care about. Or hit the snooze button one time too many. I even have visions that one day I will sit on my bedroom balcony in the coolness of the morning with a steaming cup of coffee in my hand as I wait for the rest of my house to wake up, but I haven’t made that a reality once.

There are drawbacks, too. I was once alert and ready to take on anything at 3pm, but now as that hour gets closer I can feel my eyelids drooping and I know that I’ll be at my worst for the rest of the day.  I actually go to bed (and try to sleep) at 9:30pm. I feel like I’m 10 years old again sometimes. As tired as I am in the evenings, these precious moments in the morning are still worth it to me to set that alarm for an ungodly hour and greet the day. And heck, now when I go to bed everything is finished. It was before anyone else even woke up. My days start and end with accomplishment.

I chuckle when my friends make jokes about never getting up that early, ever. I smile and nod as I hear someone tell me how they will never be able to become a morning person. I empathize with those trying to change their schedule and attempt this early morning challenge. But I have a secret, I was them. I’ll never tell, though. They wouldn’t believe me anyway.

Good morning and let me know if you want a wake up call 🙂

One response »

  1. I love the concept of early rising and have considered doing it myself. Do you have tips or, better yet, a plan that you could tell us of how to incorporate early rising into our lives? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

