Cheers to Jamie and Matt!

Standard

8917_131078293230_5268074_nMy older sister and lifelong best friend married the perfect guy for her in September, 2009. I was so honored and flattered that she asked me to be her matron of honor. The weekend that I flew to Orlando to help her pick out her gown, I also found out that I was pregnant with William.

This was the first pregnancy in our family, so as the months went by, I tried to get through this pregnancy and still be an awesome long distance support for Jamie. I was so bummed that I couldn’t do more for her, but we were both so excited that I would be expecting (and huge) on her wedding day.

William must have not wanted to miss any of the action because he came five weeks early, just in time for the big wedding. Although the invites clearly indicated “no children”, Jamie was happy to include her new nephew. Unfortunately, through my baby brain and touch of postpartum, I completely slacked on writing a toast for the newlyweds.

I was the maid of honor for my younger sister just two years earlier, and I’m not ashamed to say that my toast rocked. Of course, Jamie and I collaborated on it, but it was perfect. I couldn’t just write a subpar toast for Jamie, I mean we’ve been extremely tight since birth.

I knew that I wanted to tell a story of how their joint awesomeness greatly impacts others, and specifically me. I thought that I would tell the story of how I found out that I was pregnant while visiting her and how much their support meant to me. I never imagined that I would find out so far away from Jason and of course the positive test triggered numerous feelings from overwhelming joy to complete anxiety.

I must have written this toast a million times and it just never came out right. I just couldn’t seem to express how wonderful these two are, apart, but especially together. And then something happened recently that changed my entire outlook on my toast. So, here you go Matt and Jame. I know that I am a few years too late, but I hope that it’s worth it.

To Jamie and Matt

I feel like I’ve witnessed quite a few loves in my life. Either by observation, or my personal experience. I am grateful that I married a wonderful man and completely blessed to have my two children and an undying love for them. Even with these great loves of my life, I haven’t quite seen a love like I see between Matt and Jamie.

They are each others everything. They are best friends. They are incredibly supportive with one another. They are the bar that most couples strive to reach. They just click. And it seems so effortless.

I’ve always known this, but I got to witness it fully a few weeks ago. Matt had a surgery scheduled to help with his sleep apnea. I know that he was really excited because this has been a battle for him for so many years. I also know that Jamie was so happy since this was obviously going to improve his health. From my understanding, the procedure isn’t incredibly invasive, although he would have quite a bit of pain afterward.

It was shocking to everyone (but especially Jamie) when Matt had some complications. Not with the actual surgery, but with the anesthesia and intubation. Matt was put in the ICU and the somewhat simple outpatient surgery quickly turned to a more serious ICU visit. Whenever Jamie was able to visit him, he would get so excited that the nurses had to ask her to leave because he became so restless. Her visits had to be short and since he needed his sleep, she decided to go home for the night.

The following morning Jamie confessed that she lied. She couldn’t go home and leave him, so she spent the night in the uncomfortable waiting room. My heart instantly went out to her even though I know them too well and this was predictable. Of course she couldn’t leave him. Even if she couldn’t be in the same room as him, she had to be there. They are each others everything.

I know that their love will only grow in the future and I honestly can’t imagine how, they already love each other so much. I wish Jamie and Matt this continued awesomeness in their future together, but I especially wish to everyone that they get to experience a love like Jamie and Matt’s, even if it is for just a moment. They are the couple that we all want to be. And I am incredibly lucky to have Jamie as a sister and Matt as a new brother. I am unbelievably blessed to be a part of this love, even just from the sidelines.

Let’s raise a glass and cheers Jamie and Matt and their awesome future together!

Leave a Reply

