Spaghetti night

Standard

Spaghetti

Every once in a while a give myself an “out” for dinner and decide that it will be spaghetti night.  The entire family gets excited for this dinner, but I can’t help but feel a little lack luster every time I make this decision.  Spaghetti is fine and although not my favorite dinner, definitely not my least favorite dinner.  I make meatballs in bulk so that it is easy to bake them quickly, and that helps spice things up.  Still something nags me every time I declare that we are having spaghetti that night.

Last night was no exception.  It took minutes to pull the dinner together, complete with meatballs and garlic bread.  I patted myself on the back as I watched my family eagerly eat, even successfully bribing the kids with garlic bread to get them to finish their dinners.  It wasn’t until both boys were in bed and it was time to clean the kitchen that it hit me – it’s not the dinner but the aftermath.  Yes, I spend little time preparing, but I spend tons of time cleaning.  This time I found spaghetti sauce under the microwave.  Let me clarify, not flung under the microwave, but obvious fingerprint smears.  I know exactly which 3-year-old to point a finger at, but I still can’t figure out why he felt the need to put his hand under the microwave.  I’ve cleaned noodles out of vents, off the floor, and off of windows, and spaghetti sauce, well, off of everywhere.

During my hour of scrubbing the kitchen was when the epiphany occurred.  Spaghetti night is easy to prepare, but not so easy to clean.  No wonder I am the only one with a sense of dread.  Honestly, I am smacking my head for not thinking about this every time I ask the boys to take off their shirts before a spaghetti dinner.  Any other suggestions for “easy” dinners?

Leave a Reply

